baldwin hills - the cutest
i'm not a bet fan. yes, i'm black. yes, i love entertainment and yes, i love television. but bet is not my cup of tea. my bet days ended when i was around 19. even then i knew i didn't appreciate some of the mess i saw on there. i think that was when videos were going through the light skin v. dark skin depictions of women. that was a big deal. bet, bet, bet.... the things we learned from music videos. that's a whole other post though.given that bet has not cancelled hot ghetto mess, it's a shame that baldwin hills has to reside on the same network. just when i planned to boycott bet for being a hot ghetto mess, i end up in limbo with the cuteness of baldwin hills!
check it out:
http://money.cnn.com/news/newsfeeds/articles/prnewswire/NEF04913072007-1.htm
baldwin hills los angeles surburb african americans vanessa bell calloway positive images of black people on bet hot ghetto mess






10 Comments:
I do not think that I will give into the one charm of a decent BET show. I am officially standing off. Instead I am watching Rock of Love on VH1. I am having fun watching these white women make a damn fool of themselves. For a chance the race role has been reversed!
Bygbaby
don't have cable - but glad to know there's SOMEthing worthwhile on bet. And thanx for the love, Sis (just noticed i've been added to yr blog-roll)! :-)
I'm going to give this show a chance. I've been boycotting BET for years now, but I keep hearing great things about the show. I might be able to let this one slide.
I stopped watching BET when Donnie Simpson left. I've never heard of this show, but if it's good...I know what you mean about it having to be on the same network as HOT GHETTO MESS.
You know the worse thing about BET, I'm SURE they know how the sensible, forward-moving...progressive Black people of American view them, but they just DON'T CARE... it's all about ratings...they could care less about promoting possitivity within our communities...you'd have thought they'd have felt somekind-a-way about Aaron McGruder not opting for the "Boondocks" to air on the Black Entertainment Channel, that would have meant something to them if they GAVE A DARN ABOUT BLACK PEOPLE.
I'm sure someone will salvage the good BET programs. But we must make Viacom divest itself of the network.
This comment has been removed by the author.
VH1 is just as bad. Charm School, Flavor of Love, etc. Come on now. I haven't seen a positive black show on the three music networks since Run's House (which i LOVE). Maybe I'll give this show Baldwin Hills a chance. But please believe, the channel will be flipped on the xx:59:59! I too have been boycotting BET since the nightly news was cancelled. A hot mess...
I ducked BET when I noticed that their news programs disappeared or were placed in ridiculous time slots with barely any advertising AND when artists who would normally get an official spot on UNCUT began to enjoy major push on RAP CITY and other higher rated shows (just by Nielson, y'all). WNGA should be its station call letters now.
I'll check out the show on the strength of your words, though.
By the way, nice to see your page again. I think one of my links to it was screwy...
I really like Baldwin Hills. I, too have outgrown BET and actually deleted it from my channels until my friend mentioned this show. After viewing it, it is very much like Laguna Beach and the Hills on MTV. It would've have been nice if they had chose the Montgomery County area surrounding Washington DC. That way it would not look like such a copycat to the MTV California shows.
I agree! Montgomery County would've been a nice change of pace.
Post a Comment
<< Home