the apartment snob
i hate my apartment building. i admit it - as much as i try to deny it, i'm a bit of a snob - an apartment snob. i made an informed decision to move into my mixed community two years ago. my mother informed me that i shouldn't look down my nose about the people i live with because it could very well be me (truth); then she and my dad offered to pay my rent at my old apartment which was 2400 a month. the thought of having my parents pay for my rent at [then] 25 years old just was not going to work. i had too much pride not to mention i had mooched way too much off my folks [especially with my georgetown stint post undergrad graduation - btw, i come from a flower power / love, peace, and soul family] ANYWAY, with 1 br rent at $1300, i thought i struck the apartment deal of a lifetime....until the guy outside told me he paid $1 a month. yeah - you read it right, a damn dollar!
truth be told, i had apprehensions about moving here in the first place, but $1300 sounded pretty good to me for a high rise with W/D, balcony, etc... i was soooo going to save money! they aren't toooo shabby on the outside - aesthetically, they actually look beautiful and the grounds are kept very nicely.. worth the $1.3K? yeah.(doesn't that make it sound so much bigger than it really is???)
ok? my building is an inferno of offenses - stay with me here:
1. a big "f*ck u" keyed on the elevator door - doesn't that just say, "welcome home?"
2. a swastika keyed into the elevator door. sorry, i can't take it - i'm completely sick, what weirdo does this? i want my damn money back.
3. trash inside the elevator on the weekends and at night.
i walk past all this ridiculousness that i see on the daily and have somehow managed to act as though i don't see it - but i'm pissed (which is sick in itself.... remember back when you couldn't eat and watch the rodney king tape at the same time? but after you saw it on cnn 100 times, you just turned pissed? it's like that feeling). finally - i enter my apartment and see a damn note slid under my door that there had been several robberies in my building during the day while people are away for work. laptops/cameras/etc have been stolen from the building. well-i-be-damned. these stay-at-home mf's are stealing while i'm out trying to make my $1.3k to pay the rent.
okay - so i am pissed. i walk down the hallway and notice that there are several doors on my hall that appear to have been jimmied. isn't this just sick? there are only so many things that i take extremely personal - character attacks and personal violations are among the top... stealing makes me absolutely sick.
i march my butt down to the "security" in my building to see if they have any of these crimes on tape. after all, they sit in front of the surveillance monitor all day, the least they could do is see some kids jimmying a door. guess what - i was wrong - "security" obviously was lying when i started asking questions. damn.damn.damn! enough of this. i'm leaving here soon to buy a place and i can not wait;this has been the greatest motivating factor of all to buy my own place asap!
anyway, in lieu of the ignorance aka many of my neighbors, i have posted a video of the "amazing racist." it's a jewish guy who pokes fun at racism, i think. it's quite obnoxious; how do you think dc would have related if he came to dc with this?
Amazing Racist - Funny bloopers are a click away






9 Comments:
Its not going to be last place you live so you can suck it up for a little while. Put your big girl panties on and ride it out
NO! lol. I'm sitting on my soap box and riding it out till the bitter end of my lease!!! :p
Good luck on the place. U r probably too young to recall when the KKK wanted to have a "peaceful" march (since DC is the marcher's capital:-) - but it was quietly "discouraged" because it would cause a disturbance (and probably because they didn't have enough riot police to hold back the masses:-).
Those were the good old days. Now, they'd probably be able to march and no one would even notice. smh...
Listen, there's a self-installing alarm system that you can buy that will call any number that you program into it and allow you to listen in on what's happening in your place. I think it only costs between 70 and 100 bucks. I'd hook that bad boy up and then start yelling, "Hey in there!" If I were to get a call that someone was in my place.
As for the "Amazing Racist"...geesh! I think that first dude was more upset that he called him "Fat Albert". LOL
Damn girl, I know the parent-paid rent is starting to sound better and better. Keep ya head up, I know you can make it till the end of the lease
WOW...girl, it might be time to move...lol. But in due time, haste makes waste.
Wait......Tell your parents that if they still want to pay someones rent, they can come see me to. LOL! I'll be more then happy to move to a delux appartment in the sky :)
I can't believe that you can't get a safer place than that for thirteen hundred bucks! That sucks :-(
Them is some high ass rents. I say break the lease & move to Alabama! LOL
In regard to the video, it was funny as hell!
Bygbaby
Post a Comment
<< Home