there goes the neighborhood
i remember when i first moved to dc, we drove past all the row homes on 13th street, crossed over what u street was at the time, and finally made it to our new neighborhood - mount pleasant/columbia heights. what a change from good ole' down south atlanta; we had just graduated college, we loved new things - and we wanted chocolate city. we lived near lowest price gas station (that did not accept credit cards, that i swear i almost got robbed at once), georges carryout, and several liquor stores. we were walking distance from kennedy street, the 14th street haps and the diverse adams morgan neighborhood. what a vibrant neighborhood. ice cream trucks, kids playing in the streets, mom and pop shops.
fast forward 4 years
still living in dc, only a bit more aware of the economic changes that have taken place here. 14th street is not the same street where you could safely ride a bike or take a jog - [during the day of course, some things just don't change] - but it is now lined with new housing developments. $400K+ condos, shopping centers, restaurants, and tons of traffic at all times. there's even a new target there. then i remember the taboo of SE dc; a neighborhood that everyone told us to stay away from. how green we were. now, i visit several friends who live in that very neighborhood. projects torn down; condos and townhouses built up. lower class families moved out, middle/upper class families moved in. mom and pops stores shut down, chain retail stores pop up. what's happened here? gentrification? um yeah.
hindsight is 20/20. coming from the south, i see how slow the process of gentrification affected us. the neighborhoods didn't become labeled "up and coming" as they do here in dc. it was a slow process- we didn't realize what was happening. however over the past 4 years, dc has transformed its lower income areas into "up and coming areas" that attract people who once did not dare walk through that neighborhood - god forbid live there.. until now.
gentrification draws in taxes, thus increasing property tax and increasing rents; therefore, former tenants no longer can afford their newly luxurious neighborhoods. they leave or stay to work twice as hard just to make it work. they are not happy neighbors. let's talk tension.
the tensions between the new neighbors and the legacy neighbors is real. it's normally not a welcoming gesture when we move into neighborhoods with our noses in the air. it's usually not good community practice when you are afraid of neighbors who have lived there for years. it really doesn't help to think that about how your $400k condo is not priceless like the home across the street who sheltered 4 generations. it typically doesn't generate the "unity" that we all want so badly. it rests on the dynamics of two black americas that dj black adam wrote of in his blog. this changes the dynamics of the city as well as the dynamics between that bridge of two black americas. any resolutions? of course, it's not that easy.
race matters, class matters - especially when it comes to the unity of a race that shares the same oppressions and history. there is no point here.. just thoughts; possibly sparked due to confusion or guilt during my home-buying process. just finish this post with your own thoughts. hopefully, you've considered some of these thoughts. attached are photos around dc.


fast forward 4 years
still living in dc, only a bit more aware of the economic changes that have taken place here. 14th street is not the same street where you could safely ride a bike or take a jog - [during the day of course, some things just don't change] - but it is now lined with new housing developments. $400K+ condos, shopping centers, restaurants, and tons of traffic at all times. there's even a new target there. then i remember the taboo of SE dc; a neighborhood that everyone told us to stay away from. how green we were. now, i visit several friends who live in that very neighborhood. projects torn down; condos and townhouses built up. lower class families moved out, middle/upper class families moved in. mom and pops stores shut down, chain retail stores pop up. what's happened here? gentrification? um yeah.
hindsight is 20/20. coming from the south, i see how slow the process of gentrification affected us. the neighborhoods didn't become labeled "up and coming" as they do here in dc. it was a slow process- we didn't realize what was happening. however over the past 4 years, dc has transformed its lower income areas into "up and coming areas" that attract people who once did not dare walk through that neighborhood - god forbid live there.. until now.
gentrification draws in taxes, thus increasing property tax and increasing rents; therefore, former tenants no longer can afford their newly luxurious neighborhoods. they leave or stay to work twice as hard just to make it work. they are not happy neighbors. let's talk tension.
the tensions between the new neighbors and the legacy neighbors is real. it's normally not a welcoming gesture when we move into neighborhoods with our noses in the air. it's usually not good community practice when you are afraid of neighbors who have lived there for years. it really doesn't help to think that about how your $400k condo is not priceless like the home across the street who sheltered 4 generations. it typically doesn't generate the "unity" that we all want so badly. it rests on the dynamics of two black americas that dj black adam wrote of in his blog. this changes the dynamics of the city as well as the dynamics between that bridge of two black americas. any resolutions? of course, it's not that easy.
race matters, class matters - especially when it comes to the unity of a race that shares the same oppressions and history. there is no point here.. just thoughts; possibly sparked due to confusion or guilt during my home-buying process. just finish this post with your own thoughts. hopefully, you've considered some of these thoughts. attached are photos around dc.










10 Comments:
I don't know where to begin in addressing these concerns...I will come back after giving it more thought.
First of all, the pictures look fabulous! The top one is PERFECT! You should try to sell it. Don't mind me, I'm always thinking of ways to make a legitimate dollar. lol
This post is D-E-E-P. It truly is a shame how vulnerable we all are to being pushed out of our neighborhoods. This has happened in sooooo many major metropolitan areas and yet, when ire is raised, it's called "whining". Certainly enough, we don't always do what's necessary to keep the neighborhoods clean, safe and inviting, but all the same, that doesn't make it right for developers to bully their way onto some land.
A good friend of mine was looking to buy a small one or two bedroom home in D.C. some months ago and found everything too expensive for her budget at the time. She too wasn't comfortable taking a look at SE or SW. Sometimes I wonder if the insistence on reporting all of the negative news stories out of those neighborhoods is a way to keep additional poor folks, or even people of modest means, from moving there so it will be easier to move the ones who are already there out for real!
Thanks for the mind exercise.
lol..im waiting for the next post...
how you durrin?
This comment has been removed by the author.
Girl...this is a BIG one for me, so I'm going to TRY to focus and get the words out...lol.
I grew up in a pretty impoverished neighborhood, but never thought anything of it...we played in the red-bricks of OUR dilapidated buildings; each corner met me with a barbershop, bar or candy store (ALL BLACK OWNED MIND YOU). The old men would gather on the side walk with tables and chairs to play cards, checkers and chess as the sweet smell of black love and unity filled the strees, while the water plugs (fire hydrants) rained cool-joy on our backs...and becoming my ever present vision of being black...needless to see I fell in love with all things hood, back then.
Today...today, I'm filled with hate as I walk through those same streets...streets whose red bricks were good enough for little black children to play in have become an eye-soar to the Europeans who've now made my home their own. Streets that caused them harm in their minds are now safe enough for their children to play, but still in the face of those there before them.
I think when Paul Mooney told Dave Chappell not to get TOO good, because the white people will come and take you away...LOL. They regard this area 'worthy' of them now, so they're taking it...buying those fortunate enough to have owned their property out, and evicting those less fortunate and I HATE IT...HATE IT...HATE IT...HATE and I've got to get that together. (sorry for all that) lol.
Just me - seriously, I think we are totally on the same page... I'm so serious. I hate it too. I feel like so many factors will mess up people like us b/c we are right slap dead in the middle of this issue. Lord.
Love that shot of "Oohhs & Aahhs"...that is my favorite soul food restaurant here.
I would love to see Blacks step up and clean up their own neighborhoods. There wouldn't be the need for "Whites and their money" to do so. I tend to be puzzled when I see hipster kids getting off at NY Ave/Florida Ave Metro Station and wonder where are they going from there?
But when we do have Blacks trying to do something positive in their communities, some idiot ruins it (Tonya Bell running over those people in Anacostia, who were simply trying to have a Soul Food festival and enjoy themselves).
Reading your post made me realize something: most people buy homes expecting to stay there for a while, but how many people in these "up and coming" neighborhoods plan to spend the rest of their lives in D.C.?
If not for a continual influx of people who didn't know any better and a severe shortage of space, D.C. would have gentrified just as slow as in the south.
Take my hometown, for instance: Miami. Downtown has the condo cancer and Wynwood is the U Street down there (only, you know, without public transit). You could argue it's sped up in recent years, but aside from the condo boom, you'd be ignoring that it took 50 years of spreading into the everglades and orange plantations for people to turn back inward.
Of course, I'm ignoring a huge difference here: no one LIVES in those Miami condos and they were largely bought by speculators. Within 5 years they won't be worth a damn, which means they won't be kept up, which means there will be areas that no doubt will be totally dead and left to fall apart.
There really isn't an end to this discussion, it just needs to be continually discussed. Miami hasn't discussed it, and it's going to wind up with a dead downtown. D.C. hasn't discussed it, and it'll be interesting to see where this trend goes.
The word gentrification is problematic in its defenition. Its the act of one group moving into an area and imposing their values on the existing population. If folks could move, relocate in a community and then BECOME/blend that community, that would be beneficial for all involved.
But the way some folks conduct themselves really burns my butt.
L
Great article which is somewhat related: http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/shows/race/interviews/davis.html.
Check it out.
Post a Comment
<< Home