singles in dc? where!
i just read an article that quoted andre 3000 as saying that yoga classes are the best place to meet women. truth. i'm with him on that - it's obviously full of women who may be a little excited to see a member of outkast join them - in fact, he could meet women anywhere - gas stations, wal-mart, target, the mall, funerals, wherever.... and you'd know it was andre 3000 because he'd have on a plaid leisure suit or something... haha.. now on to those of us in dc, the cap city!with the stats looking not so promising for the ladies, maybe we should take a serious look at where the singles hang.... and men, i'm not leaving you out, you may have the quantity - but quality is what you need ;)
i believe that you meet others by chance, through friends, or by pursuit. in today's post, we're talking about the convenient pursuit that will lead to a "chance meeting."
so.....where do you meet the singles in dc?? i am happily taken, but for this post - i'm going to go back to my single days.... give me pointers where i'm rusty folks! hopefully we won't look desperate or anything, but who cares. i'm a restaurant fiend, so i'm going to try not to bombard you with them.
1. volunteering
show you have a heart - i'll start with volunteer work. although there are thousands of volunteer programs in dc, i'll give the link for one designed for singles. but trust, im sure if you hit up a charter school and mentored or the ymca, you'd be equally if not better at success.
2. sequoia........... for brunch, before 5:30pm.
beautiful people all over the place enjoying brunch. take a walk on the waterfront afterwards, then scurry on up to georgetown to do some evening shopping. you'll love it and you'll beat the rowdy crowd that comes to the restaurant at night.
3. h20....
friday night happy hour. be there before 7:00. if you like a more mature crowd, walk over to zanibar. between the hours of 7-10, you can party between both clubs free of charge. there is also a free buffet at h20. trust me, there are some greedy mufos that are in that light.. be ready to elegantly thrown them bows!
http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/wp-dyn?node=cityguide/profile&id=7924934. oya
friday night or saturday night. i love this restaurant, so hopefully you will too. the decor is awesome. there are several sections for large parties too - so bring friends. if you like sushi, this is the place to go. don't take my seat in the red backroom though.
5. ozio's
friday night - hit or miss with the male losers (sorry guys, but this is true). i kind of hate to post this one up here because it is so hit or miss. in fact, i should take it down because i haven't had fun there in forever. however, judge for yourself - it used to be a fun place.
6. home depot
there's something about meeting people in the hardware store. this has two perks (1) he/she is not homeless AND (2) he/she can do more than screw in a light bulb! my dad always said make sure he can fix things around the house... bingo!
7. busboys and poets (sorry i had to do another restaurant)
this place is bomb as hell. men and women are throughout the restaurant with their laptops chilling out and "working." i have to say, the atmosphere is so chill, men and women frequently meet. if you like poetry, then this is the place to be for open mics on tuesday nights.
8. kramerbooks & afterwards cafe
this is like a 24 hour uppity borders in dupont circle where there are lots of people. borders would work too, but just in case you have a late night craving for intellectuals, go there.
9. lucky strike
like to bowl? if you like the idea of a trendy + social bowling spot (i should also mention$$$$$), then go here. i love the place. the food is good. the crowd is great. i would recommend the bethesda location instead of the chinatown location. it's 10 times better because its less crowded :)
10. the metro
if you have to drive like me , sorry - however, the times i have ridden to work, i have to say i saw some very attractive, working, brothers and sisters on the metro. get your newspaper and go metro!
11. wedding-crash!
joke. joke - attend the ones you or a friend have been invited to and rsvp'd. please, please, please don't think negatively about the wedding you attend! don't be down - but get excited! it's the reception you want to be at!!! go get that cute dress and doll up b/c if the groom is a nice, intelligent, ambitious brother then you know what they say - birds of a feather... do i even need to finish that? (this is a vice/versa type of deal to - this works for the guys too.. )
12. library
when i was in the auc, the library was called "club woody" and rightfully so. if you are a graduate student, then the library is where the brainiacs will be. i can appreciate a smart man (and thankfully, mine is brilliant!) - but sometimes you may just hit up on a cutie too! brains + looks + personality = good start!
13. the gym
get your workout on and meet and greet! we all know this is a hot-spot for the folks who love their bodies and/or health conscious.... this is the place.
okay - 13 is enough. i'm pooped! lol anyway, if you have additional spots, please share. the weekend is coming and i'm sure it would help! if you check out any of these places, i'd love to hear how you felt about it. post a comment or email me at dcsavvystar@gmail.com
peace. happy friday.






4 Comments:
GIRL this is excellent...now I don't live in DC (bout to move there after this...LOL) but the HOME DEPOT was on point...I'm actually bout to see if I can get a membership...LOL. kidding, but yeah, that's a good place and those men are handy...lol.
that's so funny, you're post is about where to meet and mine is about what to say when you meet...LOL.
I like the library too...wedding crash is a good one, but I dare not do that, plus I'd probably just end up eating all the food...LOL. (sike, I'm not that greedy) lol
hahahahaha..great post.
i think you left out the grocery store and church.
that's just what i heard. that's a universal meeting trend.
Great Post. Home Depot is the truth for meeting men. I found mine there the first time, then ran into him two days later at Busboys. Go figure!
I think you've covered them all! lol Oh, add Auto Zone or Pep Boys to the list.
Post a Comment
<< Home