Sunday, April 15, 2007

5.Q.

1. how long are we going to hear about imus?
2. is al sharpton the voice of black america? did media create this sense of security?
3. is there a good church in washington dc? a joel osteen type? let me know.
4. where is a good place for an african american woman such as myself to hang out in dc? i'm sick of the clubs, ozios, and h20: been there done all of that. where are the young professionals?
5. i love new york - guilty pleasure?


1. yes, that's his album to the left; i couldn't make it up if i wanted to. he reminds me of a corpse, yet he is still entitled to call a team of championship final basketball players "nappy headed hoes!" i'll be damn! i understand that he's a shock jock, and can get away with many things such as speaking like pimps when talking like black men and imitating aunt jamima when referring to black women. am i offended? no. however, post-imus, i have been called beautiful by at least 5 white men - two in the presence of my boyfriend, i have also received stellar service at restaurants, and a driver even stopped for me to jay-walk across the street. america is great. joke. joke. seriously, we have a lot of work to do, starting with the music that blatently degrades women. being a female, i have a personal issue with this. i'm also a spelmanite (spelman college '03), so check out this clip of dr. tatum's opinions: http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/18054788/

2. now, on to al sharpton. everybody has a problem with al. hair aside, he has some good & not so good points... but why do all of his points have to be associated with how we as black americans feel! did the media make him the president of black america? personally - i feel that my president can not sport a perm, but i respect the man. he definitely made a fool out of imus and i have to give him props for that. however, i feel that if he's going to point fingers at one person, he must get at these rappers who disrepect black women all the time. >>Old article "Al Sharpton disses Rap.." http://www.bet.com/Music/Archives/BET.com+-Sharpton+Disses+Rap+Against+Women+1081.htm

3. churches - does anybody know of any that are good around here? i am a mississippi baptist, yet as i got older i have found an appreciation for much more liberal churches. i think we all reach a point where hearing preaching about gay relationships, fornication, and abortions gets old. i need to attend a church that teaches love and can show me ways to get into heaven. going on this track record, i need some help! lol but really, i'm looking for a super liberal/non-denomination, joel osteen church to attend that realizes that all sins are sins, including lies and theft. holla at me if you have any suggestions.

4. where is everybody! when i first moved to dc 4 years ago, people were out! i love to hang out, but some places just get old... let me know what's going on friends! b/c right now i am sooo tired of the party scene. the same old men, the same old women... good grief. however, i am happy with my relationship, so being all booed up is cool - but i need to get out and see some pieces! i'm not interested in love anymore, h20, republic, ozio's, jin.... help! nobody better say anything about me talking about partying and church in the same post!

5. speaking of sins, i love new york is a sin. its kind of like crack: it's bad, it's addictive, and it makes you look crazy in front of loved ones. i am hooked, and i need to get to that church ya'll recommend to me fast! i watched every single episode of it and i am happy that she picked tango, in a sick way... i'm watching it now - there's a marathon on vh1. the episode where pookie had the nervous breakdown and the part where the credit report that busted t-weed is on... insanity.... i'm so ashamed of myself for watching this - but tonight is the LAST night. my boyfriend says this is shrinking my braincells.. maybe so - but tonight the reunion comes on 10:00... then an new indulgence, "charm school" but - for fun, check out this crazy resemblance of janice from the muppets and new york. new york has even gave me and my dude a phrase, "throw some mayo on that!" when we are talking junk... ahh american tv...

i'm glad to be back online. peace. shoot me your suggestions.

:::NOTICE:: please take time to read over and sign this petition :: NOTICE:::

1 Comments: